Go to Top

Details & Joinery

details-joinery-top

 

_
acme-ticketing-logo
_
Tickets Required:
Admission is $80 per person.
Tickets must be purchased in advance.

Over 100 years ago a team of gifted craftsmen labored for 11 months to create The Gamble House. Inspired by the designs of Pasadena architects Charles and Henry Greene, the craftsman contractors led by John and Peter Hall, Scandinavian woodworkers, cut, turned, joined, carved, and hand-rubbed 17 species of wood into the House and furnishings that today are recognized as one of the greatest achievements in American architecture and craftsmanship.

2014-2015 DETAILS & JOINERY TOUR SCHEDULE

November 22, 2014 Saturday 8:45am
December 6, 2014 Saturday 8:45am
January 24, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
February 14, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
March 21, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
May 23, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
June 27, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
July 25, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
August 22, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
September 26, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
October 24, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
November 21, 2015 Saturday 8:45am
December 12, 2015 Saturday 8:45am

 

_
acme-ticketing-logo
_
Tickets Required:
Admission is $80 per person.
Tickets must be purchased in advance.

Tour Guide: Jim Ipekjian

Contemporary woodworker Jim Ipekjian has studied the art and craft of the Greenes and the Halls for more than 20 years, and has an intimate knowledge of how their works were created. Mr. Ipekjian’s Details & Joinery tour reveals from a craftsman’s point of view how The Gamble House was crafted. He discusses why particular woods were chosen, explains joinery techniques, and explores the thinking and collaboration that led to the actual craftsmanship. He examines details of the house and furniture, and reveals the intricacies of inlay, metal work and art glass created especially for the House. Mr. Ipekjian also shares his passion and wonder for the exquisite work created by these master architects and craftsmen.

This 3-hour tour is limited to a group of 10.

For more information or to purchase by phone, call ACME Technologies at (844) 906-0595.